Michael Jordan to current Kobe Bryant at Naismith Memorial Basketball Corridor of Fame


The Naismith Memorial Basketball Corridor of Fame on Thursday revealed the presenters for the 2020 enshrinees.

Most notably, Michael Jordan — a 2009 inductee into the Naismith Corridor of Fame — will current the late Kobe Bryant, who was the closest to emulating Jordan’s model and success on the courtroom and whom Jordan thought-about to be just a little brother. Jordan additionally spoke at Bryant’s memorial service in February 2020, exhibiting the extent of their relationship.

MORE: ‘The Final Dance’ footage exhibits how younger Kobe Bryant shortly earned respect of Michael Jordan

Bryant usually peppered Jordan with questions on his sport and preparation, a lot to the latter’s chagrin. However Bryant’s drive to succeed — coupled along with his pure skill — revealed itself to Jordan, who took it on himself to assist Bryant the place he might. Their relationship started within the 1998 All-Star Sport, the place a 19-year-old Bryant pressured Jordan to push himself. It will definitely acquired to the purpose the place Jordan thought-about Kobe the one participant able to beating him one-one-one.

“I don’t suppose I’d lose,” Jordan mentioned. “Apart from to Kobe Bryant, as a result of he steals all of my strikes.”

Jordan may also current fellow 2020 inductee Kim Mulkey, coach of the Baylor ladies’s basketball workforce — making him the one particular person to current two inductees into the 2020 Corridor of Fame class.

The 2020 induction ceremony will happen on Might 15 after it was rescheduled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Under is an entire rundown of the 2020 enshrinees and their respective presenters:

  • Patrick Baumann, offered by Russ Granik (’13), Vlade Divac (’19)
  • Kobe Bryant, offered by Michael Jordan (’09)
  • Tamika Catchings, offered by Alonzo Mourning (’14), Daybreak Staley (’13)
  • Tim Duncan, offered by David Robinson (’09)
  • Kevin Garnett, offered by Isiah Thomas (’00)
  • Kim Mulkey, offered by Michael Jordan (’09)
  • Barbara Stevens, offered by Geno Auriemma (’06), Muffet McGraw (’17)
  • Eddie Sutton, offered by John Calipari (’15), Invoice Self (’17), Sidney Moncrief (’19
  • Rudy Tomjanovich, offered by Calvin Murphy (’93), Hakeem Olajuwon (’08)

Supply hyperlink

Leave a reply